Australia is located in Oceania, a continent between the Indian Ocean and the South Pacific Ocean.

Australia facts

Official Name: Commonwealth of Australia
Capital: Camberra
Population: 22,3 million (aprox.)
Area: 7,7 million sq km
Currency: Australian dollar (A$)
Religion: Christianity
Literacy: 99%
Languages: English (No official language) and native languages.

Major Cities: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide.
Climate: Diverse range of climate zones varying from tropical regions in the north through the arid areas of the interior to temperate regions in the south.

National Day: Australia Day (January 25)

Map: The World Factbook (CIA)